Skip to content

So What Happens Now? The Other Suitcase in the Other Room…

November 9, 2010

Last week, the class and I sat in the  computer lab of the SUB and spent two class periods setting up our blogs, surfing google or facebook for relevant images, all for the sole purpose of “making them blogs pretty.”  At one point, as twenty-two people typed away at computers, one of my students raised her hand and said, “Am I really allowed to sit here and search for pictures?”  

Part of me wonders if I’m going to get fired.  Because yes, for two full class periods, all we did was play.  Facebook, google images, youtube–a teacher’s usual nightmare (and student’s dream) were embraced and as far as I can tell, everyone was happy. 

“Title your blog entries whatever you want,” I said.  I reminded my students of their last two papers  (a literary analysis of a play and a profile on a person within the performance world).  “Remember how I told you to stop being so clever?  That I wanted boring, dry titles that fulfilled the rubric requirements (convey your subject and your angle, that’s all!).  Well, forget it.  Be your clever selves. Let the blog be you!”  And boy did they.  From Andrea’s Ghetto Love to Devonna’s Love and Lies or Ryan’s King of Muggle’s Blog, they did just that.  Blogs about cinderella stories, and parental relationships, open-ended questions about thedating world, about their place in it, and more (including one blog dedicated solely towards one “Failboat’s” failed advice).  

I’m as new to this blogging world as they are and we had fun simply working together and figuring things out.  Without a net, indeed.  But now the blogs are created (complete with snazzy titles and even more snazzy taglines) and the first postings have scattered over our twenty-one different sights.  (Susan has even learned to post photographs!).  

And I keep wondering: what happens now?  Well, in truth, it’s entirely  up to them.

(Oh yes, and extra credit points for anyone who knows what musical I’m referencing!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha Tetangco permalink*
    November 9, 2010 7:51 pm

    Oh yes, and I forgot to add, if you are interested in pictures on blogs in terms of copyright laws, etc, check out this blog by Neil Kramer: http://www.citizenofthemonth.com/2010/11/06/find-me-a-photo-of-lindsay-lohan/ (it was a blog of interest in Monday’s class)

  2. November 11, 2010 9:33 pm

    I completely second your shift of gears. Blog-impaired as I am, I am totally enjoying reading all the blogs and they have been really helpful for the devising work in Theatre 122!

Leave a Reply

